News & Press: ARS News

Congratulations to Inaugural Gold Medal Recipient Dr. Richard Hoppe

Monday, May 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

The ARS is pleased to award the inaugural Gold Medal to Richard T. Hoppe, MD.


The Gold Medal is awarded to a member as an acknowledgement of their contributions to oncology and
their service to the American Radium Society (ARS).


The recipient’s professional contributions may be in teaching, basic research, clinical investigation or professional statesmanship, and must include outstanding efforts in service to the ARS. The recipient may be drawn from any of the disciplines reflected in the membership of the ARS.



Richard T. Hoppe, MD is the Henry S. Kaplan-Harry Lebeson Professor of Cancer Biology in he Department of Radiation Oncology at Stanford
University. He is a graduate of Cornell University and was awarded an MD from Cornell University Medical College. He served as Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Stanford for 19 years. His research interests include Hodgkin’s disease, the lymphomas, radiation
immunosuppression, and radiation late effects. He has co-authored more than 300 research articles and 100 book chapters on these subjects. He is primary Editor of the text Hodgkin Lymphoma, published in 2007 and Co-Editor of Leibel and Phillips Textbook of Radiation Oncology, published in 2010.

Dr. Hoppe is a member of the Hodgkin Lymphoma (as Chair), the T-Cell Lymphoma, and the Cutaneous Lymphoma Guidelines Committees for the National Cancer Center Network (NCCN). He is a member of the Steering Committee of the International Lymphoma Radiation Oncology Group (ILROG) and a member of the Board of the International Society for Cutaneous Lymphoma (ISCL). He served in the past as President and Chairman of the Board of the American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ASTRO), a Trustee of the American Board of Radiology
(ABR), a Chancellor in the American College of Radiology (ACR), a member of the NIH/NCI Board of Scientific Counselors and a member of the Board of Stanford Hospital and Clinics.


Dr. Hoppe was awarded the Gold Medal of ASTRO, was a Janeway Lecturer for the American Radium Society (ARS), is an awardee of the Gold Medal of the ACR, and a recipient of the Karl Musshoff Prize for Clinical Research from the German Hodgkin Lymphoma Study Group. He has delivered the E. Richard King Memorial Lecture, the Philip Rubin Lecture at the International Congress of Radiation Oncology in Beijing, the Richard G. Evans Memorial Lecture, the Jerry Vaeth Lecture, the Radiation Oncology Oration at the Radiological Society of North America, the Vera Peters Lecture, the Martin Schneider Memorial Lecture, the John Ultmann Lecture at the International Symposium on Hodgkin lymphoma, the Franz Buschke Lecture, and the Ho Hung-Chiu Medical Foundation Lecture in Hong Kong. He is a recipient of the Henry S. Kaplan Memorial Prize for Teaching and the ARRO (Association of Residents in Radiation Oncology) Educator of the Year Award. He is an Honorary Professor at the Shantou University Medical College.




Contact Us

American Radium Society
19 Mantua Road

Mount Royal, NJ 08061 USA

Connect With Us
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal